

CONFIDENTIAL

Submission to:

AOM Board of Directors

Meeting date:	Agenda item:	Lead:	For:
February 17, 2021	3.4	Bounmy Inthavong	Approval
Subject:			
AOM Award Nominations			

Overview / Background:

The Awards Task Force met on February 8, 2021 to discuss the award nominations. There were no new nominations submitted for 2021 awards, except those submitted by AOM Communications Staff for the Media Award. The Task Force therefore reviewed previously submitted nominations that they deemed to be worthy of reconsideration. One nomination was reviewed for the Hospital Integration Award, two for the Lifetime Achievement Award, two for the Elsie Cressman Award and four for the Media Award.

The Task Force reviewed the nominations thoroughly and used both a quantitative scoring process and a qualitative discussion to come to consensus about the award recipients.

The Midwifery Research Work Group (MRWG) received one nomination for the 2021 Excellence in Midwifery Research Award. The submitted abstract was evaluated by the committee using a standard assessment criteria and given a score out of 50. The criteria for scoring included: the clarity of the research question under study, the appropriateness of the methodology and analysis used, the significance of the research to midwifery practice and the ways in which the results address knowledge gaps.

The MRWG gave a score of 42.5/50 (85%) to this paper and unanimously recommended this paper to receive the award. The paper is: *A critical interpretive synthesis of the roles of midwives in health systems* by Cristina A. Mattison, John N. Lavis, Michael G. Wilson, Eileen K. Hutton and Michelle L. Dion.



CONFIDENTIAL

Desired outcomes from the discussion:

The Awards Task Force recommends to the Board the following nominees as winners:

Hospital Integration Award
Media Award
Sault Area Hospital
Matt Galloway, CBC

For radio segment: <u>Midwives warn of little support, burnout</u>

due to pandemic, The Current, Dec 17/20

• Lifetime Achievement Award Elizabeth Allemang

• Elsie Cressman Award Midwifery and Toronto Community Health (MATCH) Program

• Excellence in Midwifery Research Award A critical interpretive synthesis of the roles of midwives in health systems by Cristina A. Mattison, John N. Lavis, Michael G. Wilson, Eileen K. Hutton and Michelle L. Dion.

Next steps / Award Task Force Recommendations:

Motion: To approve the Task Force's recommendations for the following awards for 2021:

Hospital Integration Award
Media Award
Lifetime Achievement Award
Elsie Cressman Award
Matt Galloway, CBC
Elizabeth Allemang
Midwifery and Toronto

Community Health (MATCH)

Program

■ Excellence in Midwifery Research Award A critical interpretive synthesis

of the roles of midwives in health systems by Cristina A. Mattison, John N. Lavis, Michael G. Wilson, Eileen K.

Hutton and Michelle L.

Dion.

Should this motion be successful, Board members are to keep this information confidential until award recipients receive official notification from the AOM.

Outgoing Board Member Awards 2021

In the past Board Members who are leaving the Board have been given a trophy as a token of appreciation for their years of service on the AOM Board of Directors. It has been suggested by



CONFIDENTIAL

a former Board member that instead of a trophy, the AOM could make a donation to a charity on their behalf.

Desired outcomes from the discussion:

Staff recommendation:

To approve honouring outgoing Board members by making a charitable donation on their behalf rather than sending them a trophy.